keynote speakers

Christopher HollowayDr. Christopher L. Holloway (S’86-M’922-SM’04-F’10) is a Fellow of the IEEE and received the B.S. degree from the University of  Tennessee at Chattanooga, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Colorado at Boulder, both in electrical engineering. During 1992 he was a Research Scientist with Electro Magnetic Applications, Inc., in Lakewood, Co. From the fall of 1992 to 1994 he was with the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) in Boulder, Co. While at NCAR his duties included wave propagation modeling, signal processing studies, and radar systems design. From 1994 to 2000 he was with the Institute for Telecommunication Sciences (ITS) at the U.S. Department of Commerce in Boulder, Co., where he was involved in wave propagation studies. Since 2000 he has been with the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NNIST), Boulder, CO, where he works on electromagnetic theory. He is also on the Graduate Faculty at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Dr. Holloway received the 2013 IEEE APS Society Edward E. Altshuler Award, 2008 IEEE EMC Society Richard R. Stodart Award, the 2006 Department of Commerce Bronze Medal for his work on radio wave propagation, the 1999 Department of Commerce Silver Medal for his work in electromagnetic theory, and the 1998 Department of Commerce Bronze Medal for his work on printed circuit boards. Dr. Holloway is currently serving as chair for US Commission A of the International Union of Radio Science and is an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Electromagnetic Compatibility. He has published over 200 technical articles including: 92 refereed journal articles, 105 conference papers, 77 conference presentations without publications, 2 book chapters, and 35 technical reports. Dr. Holloway’s research interests include electromagnetic field theory, wave propagation, guided wave structures, remote sensing, numerical methods, metamaterials, measurement techniques, EMC/EMI issues, and atom based metrology.


Marco KlinglerDr. Marco Klingler was born in Zurich, Switzerland, in 1963. He received his Engineer’s degree in computer science from HEI, Lille (France) in 1989, his DEA (M.S.) degree in automatics / robotics and his Ph.D. in electronics in 1989 and 1992 respectively, both from the University of Lille. He then joined the French National Institute for Transport and Safety Research (INRETS) in Villeneuve d’Ascq (France) as a researcher where he was in charge of the R&D activities in EMC of ground transportation systems. His main interests were electromagnetic interferences on PCBs, behavior of electronic components in electromagnetic environments, coupling to wire structures, test methods, and test facilities. In 2002, he joined PSA Peugeot Citroen in Velizy-Villacoublay (France) in the Development Division where he was successively in charge of the EMC design activities, the EMC / antenna simulation activities, and finally the EMC full vehicle validation activities. In 2011, he moved to the Research Division where he is currently an EMC Expert and responsible of the EMC / antenna research activities. His main interests include EMC modeling and simulation of automotive electric powertrains, multi-conductor transmission lines, new materials, and specific vehicle antennas.


KG LövstrandDr. Karl Gunnar Lövstrand was born at Västerlövsta, Sweden in 1946. He passed his M.Sc. exam at the University of Uppsala in 1969. In 1973 he received his PhD degree in Electricity at the High Voltage Research Institute, University of Uppsala. His research work concerned Static Electricity, Lightning Protection and Bio-effects of EM fields. In 1974 he was elected member of the Swedish National Committee of Radio Science, section E. He was Docent of Electricity at the High Voltage Research Institute 1974-1981. He joined SAAB Military Aircraft Co in 1981. There he was responsible for the overall EMC program of the JAS Gripen fighter aircraft. In 1985 he moved to the Defence Materiel Administration Testing Directorate, where he was responsible for the foundation of the NEMP test centre. He was co-founder of the Swedish chapter of IEEE-EMC. In 1992 he was elected senior member of IEEE-EMC and was appointed Strategic Specialist of EM Effects for the Defence Materiel Administration. During 1989-2000 he was responsible for the HPM-protection R&D of the Swedish Defence. In 2000 he was employed by FMV Joint Materiel Command for the position of FMV Chief Scientist and co-ordinator of the Swedish R&D activities within the West European Armaments Group and was from 2005-2011 Swedish delegate to the European Defence Agency T&E committee. In 2003 he moved to Linköping to become Technical Director at the FMV Testing Directorate. He retired in 2011. He is a frequent lecturer and has published many papers on electrostatics, bio-effects, lightning protection, NEMP and HPM.